Thursday, May 19, 2016

Hemminger, Shea, and Burke recognized by UC Irvine

John Hemminger and  Ken Shea have been named as Distinguished Professors of UC Irvine, while Kieron Burke has been named a Chancellor's Professor.  The new titles become effective June 1, 2016.  

The Distinguished Professor title is the highest campus-level distinction and is reserved for senior faculty who have achieved the highest levels of scholarship over the course of their careers. Distinguished Professors will typically have earned national and international level distinctions and honors of the highest level.

The Chancellor's Professor title is designed for persons who have earned the title of Professor and who have demonstrated unusual academic merit and whose continued promise for scholarly achievement is unusually high. Thus, Chancellor's Professors are faculty who have achieved acclaim for their accomplishments and who are highly likely to continue producing notable achievement in scholarship.