UCI team gets $1 million Keck Foundation grant to develop tools for RNA observation

A multidisciplinary team of UCI professors has received a $1 million grant from the W.M. Keck Foundation to develop new molecular tools to identify ribonucleic acids essential in learning and memory formation. “Our project involves building luminescent RNA molecules, allowing us to observe their position and activity in the brain of a living, learning mouse,” said principal investigator Andrej Luptak, professor of pharmaceutical sciences and chemistry. “We will relate the results obtained over the past 40 years in cultured cells to the molecular mechanisms that happen in live animals.

Congratulations to Chemistry NSF GRFP Awardees!

The 2021 National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) awardees have been announced! The NSF GRFP is highly competitive and it is a great distinction to be honored by the program with a Fellowship or Honorable Mention. 

The following four graduate students were awarded a Fellowship:
Hannah Slocumb in the Dong Group
Rakia Dhaoui in the Yang Group
Riley Cooper in the Pronin Group
Ali Younis in the Borovik Group 

Chemistry Major Lucy Yang has been Awarded a Barry Goldwater Scholarship!

Congratulations to Luptak group member, Lucy Yang, for being awarded a 2021 Barry Goldwater Scholarship! There is an estimated pool of over 5,000 college sophomores and juniors that apply to compete for the 2021 Goldwater scholarships to pursue research careers in the natural sciences, mathematics and engineering fields. This year, only 410 scholars were awarded the scholarship. Goldwater Scholars have impressive academic and research credentials that will eventually garner the attention of prestigious post-graduate fellowship programs. 

Brenna Biggs has been selected as a Carbon Neutrality Initiative (CNI) Fellow for the 2019-20 academic year

Congratulations to Brenna Biggs on being named a Carbon Neutrality Initiative (CNI) Fellow for the 2019-20 academic year! The UC President’s Carbon Neutrality Initiative Student Fellowship Program funds student-generated projects that support the UC system’s goal to produce zero-net greenhouse gas emissions by 2025. All 10 UC campuses plus the UC Office of the President, UC Agriculture and Natural Resources and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory are participating in the program.