F. Sherwood Rowland was the founding Chair of Chemistry, and remained on the faculty at UCI until his death in 2012. “Sherry”, a
world-renowned atmospheric chemist, received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1995 for discovering that chlorofluorocarbons destroy
stratospheric ozone, with potentially devastating consequences. [More] Contribute to the Rowland Chair and Fellowship fund. [link]

Mare Taagepera was Lecturer in Chemistry and chemical education researcher at UCI from 1975 to 2013. Mare was a passionate and
popular instructor of organic chemistry courses at UCI, and she worked tirelessly to transform science education in general, and
especially K-12 education in Orange County. [More]

James N. Pitts, Jr. was a researcher at UCI from 1994 to 2014, following a distinguished career on the faculty at UCR. Jim was a
pioneer in discovering how air pollution is driven by photochemical processes, and a fierce advocate for policies to reduce air pollution.
[More] Contribute to the Pitts undergraduate scholarship fund. [link]