Professor Griffin awarded Beckman Young Investigator Award

Congratulations to Professor Matt Griffin who was recently awarded the Beckman Young Investigator Award. The Beckman Young Investigator (BYI) Program provides research support to the most promising young faculty members in the early stages of their academic careers in the chemical and life sciences, particularly to foster the invention of methods, instruments and materials that will open up new avenues of research in science.

Professor Scott Rychnovsky to be recognized as Chancellor's Award Winner at UCI Celebration of Teaching Awards Ceremony

The UCI Celebration of Teaching recognizes the faculty, instructors, and teaching assistants who have demonstrated excellence in undergraduate teaching at UC Irvine. Nominated by peers, students, and staff, award winners exemplify exceptional teaching across six award categories. Founded in 1992, to date over 300 professors, lecturers, and TAs have been recognized by their colleagues and students for exemplary teaching.

Professors Furche and Yang Honored as AAAS Fellows

Congratulations to Professor Filipp Furche and Professor Jenny Yang on being named fellows of the Honored as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science! Their citations are as follows:
• Filipp Furche, Professor, Department of Chemistry – for distinguished contributions to the fields of computational and theoretical chemistry with applications to the structure and bonding of rare-earth and actinide metal complexes.

Congratulations to Chemistry NSF GRFP 2024 Awardees!

The 2024 National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) awardees have been announced! The NSF GRFP is highly competitive and it is a great distinction to be honored by the program with a Fellowship or Honorable Mention.

The following four graduate students were awarded a Fellowship:

Jonah P Stiel in the Evans Group

Jack T Leonard in the Griffin Group

Nathaniel Alan Gomez in the Ardo Group

Kaitlyn Grace Dold in the Arguilla Group


Natalie Falco (Griffin Lab) awarded the F31 Ruth L. Kirschstein Predoctoral Fellowship from NIH

Congratulations to Natalie Falco for receiving the prestigious NIH F31 fellowship from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID). Natalie is a fourth year graduate trainee in the Griffin lab, where she studies how chemical processes of our microbiota influence gut health. Her fellowship proposal entitled “Chemoenzymatic discovery of secreted microbial enzymes for engineered probiotics” aims to identify and exploit new ways to generate immune active glycopeptides that fortify the intestinal barrier and prevent leaky gut.

Professor Jenny Yang wins Beall Innovation Award in the Physical Sciences

Professor Jenny Yang of the UC Irvine Department of Chemistry was awarded the tenth annual Beall Innovation Award in the Physical Sciences. Yang received the award after presenting a winning talk titled “Exhale: CO2 Capture and Concentration from Indoor Air,” which she presented during the School of Physical Science’s Shark Tank event on Wednesday, November 15.