Sierra Williams
Sierra Williams (Prescher group) selected as a Decade Plus grad leadership coach.
Sean and Zi
Grads Sean Nguyen and Zi Yao (Prescher group) awarded BIOL Division Travel Award.

New Faculty Member

Shane Ardo
Mon, Apr 8

Dr. Shane Ardo to join dept as an Assistant Prof of Materials Chemistry.

The central theme of the Ardo Group's research program will be to understand and control photoinduced reaction mechanisms at interfaces, with the goal of maximizing solar energy-conversion efficiency for realistic applications. The photoelectrochemical and photophysical properties of hard and soft material interfaces will be manipulated via molecular functionalization, electrostatic engineering, and physical protection. The results from this research will be pertinent to fundamental electrochemistry and charge-, energy-, and ion-transfer phenomena, spanning the disciplines of chemistry, physics, biology, and engineering.

For more information on Dr. Ardo's research program on Solar Energy Conversion and Electrochemistry, please visit his personal website at