Ardo wins DOE Early Career Award

Shane Ardo receives the 2018 DOE Early Career Award.

The program supports the development of individual research programs of outstanding scientists early in their careers and stimulates research careers in the disciplines supported by the DOE Office of Science. Under the program, university-based researchers receive at least $150,000 per year to cover summer salary and research expenses:

For more information visit here.

Manabu makes planet great again

Prof Manabu Shiraiwa has been selected as one of the laureates for the “Make Our Planet Great Again” Short-Stay Program in France.

You might have heard about this initiative by the French President Macron.

He will stay at the University of Paris - Est for one month in this summer to collaborate with French scientists to work on aerosol effects on air quality and climate.

To learn more about the program click here.

Growing graduates

Grad Bianca Ceballos (Yang lab) awarded an NSF GROW fellowship award.

Bianca Ceballos received an NSF GROW fellowship award to perform collaborative research at the University of Paris Diderot in the Fall.

You can read more about the award here.

Grand opening of IMRI

International Symposium on Microscopy and Spectroscopy, June 6-8

Grand Opening of the UC Irvine Materials Research Institute & The First International Symposium on Advanced Microscopy and Spectroscopy will take place June 6-8, 2018.

Senate recognizes faculty

Amanda Holton and Dick Chamberlin receive Academic Senate awards.

Amanda Holton has been named the 2018-2019 recipient of the Distinguished Assistant Professor Award for Teaching. The award is conferred by the Senate on a faculty member who has made significant contributions to the university through sustained, distinguished teaching.

Undergrad is ACS scholar

Undergrad Nehal Idris selected for the ACS Scholars Program.

Nehal Idris has been selected to be a scholar in the American Chemical Society's (ACS) Scholars Program. 

The ACS Scholars Program awards renewable scholarships to underrepresented minority students majoring in undergraduate chemistry-related disciplines, and are also intending to pursue careers in chemistry-related fields. Selected recipients are awarded up to $5,000* per academic year. To date, over 3,000 students have received a funding from the ACS Scholars Program.

Grad papers are finalists

Papers by grads Lauren Fleming and Julia Montoya-Aguilera are finalists for Wagner award.

Lauren Fleming and Julia  Montoya-Aguilera were selected as two of the three finalists in the 2018 Peter B. Wagner Memorial Award for Women in Atmospheric Sciences, an annual award based on a paper competition. The papers that brought them recognition were: