Congratulations to Chemistry NSF GRFP Awardees!

The 2021 National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) awardees have been announced! The NSF GRFP is highly competitive and it is a great distinction to be honored by the program with a Fellowship or Honorable Mention. 

The following four graduate students were awarded a Fellowship:
Hannah Slocumb in the Dong Group
Rakia Dhaoui in the Yang Group
Riley Cooper in the Pronin Group
Ali Younis in the Borovik Group 

Chemistry Major Lucy Yang has been awarded a Barry Goldwater Scholarship!

Congratulations to Luptak group member, Lucy Yang, for being awarded a 2021 Barry Goldwater Scholarship! There is an estimated pool of over 5,000 college sophomores and juniors that apply to compete for the 2021 Goldwater scholarships to pursue research careers in the natural sciences, mathematics and engineering fields. This year, only 410 scholars were awarded the scholarship. Goldwater Scholars have impressive academic and research credentials that will eventually garner the attention of prestigious post-graduate fellowship programs. 

Professor Jenny Yang is the Recipient of the 2021 Inorganic Chemistry Lectureship Award!

Professor Jenny Yang is the recipient of the 2021 Inorganic Chemistry Lectureship Award! The award is co-sponsored by the journal, Inorganic Chemistry, and the Division of Inorganic Chemistry of the American Chemical Society. Established in 2013, this annual award "recognizes an individual who has demonstrated broad creativity and impact in leading research in Inorganic Chemistry." Professor Yang will give a lecture in a symposium organized in her honor at the 2021 Fall ACS National Meeting. 

Shane Ardo named Beall Applied Innovation Faculty Innovation Fellow

Shane Ardo has been named a UCI Beall Applied Innovation Faculty Innovation Fellow. Faculty Innovation Fellows are selected based on their record of innovation at UCI and are chosen to be ambassadors for UCI Beall Applied Innovation.  Shane is one of 18 Fellows in the second cohort and the only Fellow selected from the School of Physical Sciences this year. 


Professor Prescher named a Paul G. Allen Frontiers Group Distinguished Investigator

Jenn Prescher has been named a Paul G. Allen Frontiers Group Distinguished Investigator in Immunometabolism. This prestigious distinction comes with $1.5 M in funding over three years, which Jenn will share with Professor Michelle Digman in the Department of Biomolecular Engineering at UCI. As described in the press release:

PhD Student Barry Rich receives prestigious ARCS Scholar Award

Barry Rich, a 3rd-year graduate student in the Bess Lab, has been awarded a prestigious ARCS Scholar Award by the ARCS Foundation! ARCS Scholars are doctoral students exhibiting outstanding promise as scientists, researchers, and leaders. Barry is 1 of 9 awardees from UC Irvine. He received this award in recognition of his exceptional leadership contributions to the university and local communities as well as his research to examine regulation of dopamine levels by the gut microbiome.