Professor Vy Dong has been appointed as Chancellor's Professor!

Vy Dong has been awarded the title of Chancellor’s Professor.

From the Provost: “This title is used to recognize scholars who have demonstrated unusual academic merit and whose continued promise for scholarly achievement makes them of exceptional value to the university.”

For more information and a complete list of current Chancellor’s Professors, see

Prof. Finlayson-Pitts will receive an honorary doctoral degree from McGill University!

Professor Barbara Finlayson-Pitts will receive an honorary doctoral degree from McGill University in Montréal, Québec, Canada, on June 5, 2023.

From McGill University: “Honorary doctorates are McGill University’s highest honours, and are awarded to people who have shown exceptional dedication to improving the lives of others, whether through research, art, public service, or philanthropy."

Congratulations to Professor Finlayson-Pitts on this wonderful and well-deserved honor!

Suhwan Song's Publication Featured in Nature Communications

UCI postdoc Suhwan Song has shown how to obtain chemical accuracy in simulations of water from DFT. This is the culmination of a decade-long collaboration between UCI and Professor Eunji Sim of Yonsei University. Suhwan's publication, "Extending density functional theory with near chemical accuracy beyond pure water," has been highlighted by the editors of Nature Communications.

Joe Patterson is the recipient of the 2023 Burton Medal from the MSA

Joe Patterson is the recipient to the 2023 Burton Medal from the Microscopy Society of America. This award honors annually distinguished contributions to the field of microscopy and microanalysis by a scientist who is less than 40 years old. Joe will receive his award as part of the plenary session marking the opening of the Microscopy and Microanalysis 2023 meeting in Minneapolis in July.

Congratulations to Joe on this well-deserved honor.