Congratulations to 2011 Lauds and Laurels Alumni recipient David Mac Millan

Congratulations to 2011 Lauds and Laurels Alumni recipient David Mac Millan, Ph.D. '06, School of Physical Sciences (presented May 12, 2011). After receiving his doctorate in synthetic organic chemistry from UCI in 1996, David MacMillan rose rapidly to a position of leadership in the field. In 10 short years, he went from assistant professor at UC Berkeley to full professor at the California Institute of Technology, followed by a chaired professorship at Princeton University. He is currently the A.

UCI Chemistry teachers Honored

Congratulations to the excellent teachers in the Chemistry Department! Of special note, Dr. Ben Hafensteiner has been named UCI Lecturer of the Year. Additionally, Professor Andy Borovik has been chosen as The School of Physical Sciences Honoree for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. Their efforts are being recognized at this year's Celebration of Teaching on May 26.

Congratulations NSF Graduate Research Fellowship recipients

Congratulations to the following students who have been awarded NSF Graduate Research Fellowships: Gregory Hartt, Samuel Tartakoff, Kathleen Richert, Joseph Carlson, Amanda Weber, Amanda MacMillan and Aurora Pribram-Jones. Additionally, the following students are commended for receiving an Honorable Mention in the same program: Megan Fieser, Sarah Cook, Nicholas Sizemore, Aaron Johnson and Gavin Bascom. Thank you to all of the faculty who encouraged their students to apply and to Lori Greene in the Research Development Office for her help.