Professor Manabu Shiraiwa receives the Walter A. Rosenblith New Investigator Award

UCI Department of Chemistry congratulates Professor Manabu Shiraiwa for receiving the Walter A. Rosenblith New Investigator Award in recognition of his research and plans for studying the health effects of organic aerosols:

Professor Vy Dong to receive the 2019 ACS E.J. Corey Award

Professor Vy Dong will receive the 2019 Elias J. Corey Award for Outstanding Original Contribution in Organic Synthesis by a Young Investigator, sponsored by the Pfizer Endowment Fund. ACS award recipients will be honored at the awards ceremony on Tuesday, April 2, 2019, in conjunction with the 257th ACS National Meeting in Orlando, Florida. Congratulations Professor Dong!

Professor Prescher named Scialog Fellow by Research Corporation (RCSA)

Congratulations to Professor Prescher for being named a Scialog Fellow by Research Corporation (RCSA). Scialog supports early to mid-career scientists working on multidisciplinary projects.  The program is supported by the Research Corporation for Scientific Advancement and the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation. More details about the program can be found at:


Ardo wins DOE Early Career Award

Shane Ardo receives the 2018 DOE Early Career Award.

The program supports the development of individual research programs of outstanding scientists early in their careers and stimulates research careers in the disciplines supported by the DOE Office of Science. Under the program, university-based researchers receive at least $150,000 per year to cover summer salary and research expenses:

For more information visit here.

Manabu makes planet great again

Prof Manabu Shiraiwa has been selected as one of the laureates for the “Make Our Planet Great Again” Short-Stay Program in France.

You might have heard about this initiative by the French President Macron.

He will stay at the University of Paris - Est for one month in this summer to collaborate with French scientists to work on aerosol effects on air quality and climate.

To learn more about the program click here.

Growing graduates

Grad Bianca Ceballos (Yang lab) awarded an NSF GROW fellowship award.

Bianca Ceballos received an NSF GROW fellowship award to perform collaborative research at the University of Paris Diderot in the Fall.

You can read more about the award here.