Professor Chris Vanderwal named AAAS fellow!

Christopher Vanderwal, Professor of Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Sciences, has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for his distinguished contributions to the field of organic chemistry, particularly for efficient chemical synthesis of bioactive alkaloids and chlorinated natural products. Congratulations to Professor Vanderwal on this achievement!

Professor Emeritus Benny Gerber awarded the Gold Medal of the Israel Chemical Society (ICS)

Professor Emeritus Benny Gerber has been awarded the Gold Medal of the Israel Chemical Society (ICS), the ICS's highest honor, "for his fundamental contributions to the structure and dynamics of polyatomic molecular systems and deciphering mechanisms of atmospheric reactions". Please see the ICS President's letter for additional details on Benny's storied life and career.

Professor Elizabeth Bess awarded 2020-2021 Hellman Fellowship

Assistant Professor Elizabeth Bess is the recipient of a 2020-2021 Hellman Fellowship Award. This award was created by a generous gift from Mr. F. Warren Hellman, a distinguished UC Berkeley alumnus and supporter of junior faculty. The Hellmann Fellows Fund was created to provide support and encouragement for the research and creative activities of promising faculty at the Assistant Professor rank. This fellowship is awarded annually to 5-7 Assistant Professors across all disciplines at UCI.